Rivers State Assembly faction confirms eight new commissioners nominated by Fubara

The Rivers State House of Assembly faction, led by Victor Oko-Jumbo, has screened and confirmed eight commissioner nominees as members of the Rivers State Executive Council.

This followed a request by Governor Siminalayi Fubara to the lawmakers loyal to his administration.

The commissioners designate include, Charles Bekee, a former Chairman of the Rivers/Bayelsa Branch of the Manufacturers Association of Nigeria; Collins Onunwo, a former Caretaker Committee Chairman of Obio/Akpor Local Government Area; and Solomon Eke, also a former Caretaker Committee Chairman of Obio/Akpor Local Government Area.

Others are Dr Peter Medee, former Commissioner for Energy in the immediate past administration; Barr. Elloka Tasie-Amadi, former Commissioner for Works in the immediate past administration; Basoene Benibo; Tambari Sydney-Gbara, immediate past Publicity Secretary of the PDP in the state; and Dr. Ovy Chukwuma.

The screening and confirmation mark the second exercise to be conducted under Oko-Jumbo’s leadership.

The first, which took place last week, saw the successful screening and confirmation of Dagogo Iboroma, a Senior Advocate of Nigeria, as the Commissioner for Justice and Attorney General of the state.

The article was originally published on Politics Nigeria.

“A threat to national security” – Nigerian Army reacts to attack on soldiers at Abuja plaza

Again, Labour rejects FG’s N54,000 minimum wage